Rock-Paper-Scissors

Meneldil

Planter
This thread should really live somewhere between this forum and the suggestions forum, but I've put it here because this forum looked more like it needed an injection of life.

This post is a thought I've had for a little while since I started playing again this round. It's not fully developed, or entirely thought through, but I think it's valuable so I'd welcome discussion of it!

Bushtarion is a complex game with many aspects, but I think one of the key features - which Azzer has reiterated his commitment to on many occasions in the past - is that it's rock-paper-scissors: SAs beat RPGs, RPGs beat Rangers, Rangers beat SAs. That's really good, it makes the game interesting, it makes having a diverse selection of routes in your alliance a Good Idea, it also makes the game significantly easier to balance.

Now, there are cases where Route X absolutely thrashes Route Y, which absolutely thrashes Route Z, which absolutely thrashes Route X. Likewise, you get similar loops where the relative power is lower, so X marginally beats Y marginally beats Z marginally beats X.
Of course, this is a simplification, as it neglects different troop setups within each route, but this model can deal with that by considering differing setups as different routes.

Now, I'm going to use the following notation:
"X < Y" denotes that route/setup Y marginally beats route X
"X << Y" denotes that route/setup Y significantly beats route X
"X -- Y" denotes that neither route clearly beats the other (for example SA -- Vamp)