Technologically challenged

Rosa

Pruner
It's time for me to get a new computer, after the 10th year that I've had this 500 mhz one. I'm excited and can't wait to get rid of this poor excuse I call a computer. However there's only 1 minor problem, with a mind as old fashioned as mine I have absolutely no knowledge about computers. So don't even consider me building my own computer, never going to happen.

Anyways I'm looking for a decent computer nothing top of the line, however I don't want one only for the sake for music and Microsoft word either. If I'm to buy one of those computer packages what kind of specs should I be looking for?

I'm thinking something along the lines of 500 gb hard drive and some sort of decent graphic card, but I have no knowledge on that dual core jumbo mumbo so help here would be greatly appreciated. Not sure if this is needed but my budget is around 1000 dollars Canadian. A bit more or less doesn't matter.

Thanks for your time!

Gooner-fan-deano

Harvester
Re: Technologically challenged

Id get the AMD processor compared to the intel one... DDR2 ram I think is the best at the moment (2gb is a good amount to have)
Hope this helps a little, im not very good with computers either :)

BlackWolf

Landscape Designer

OMG!
Thats worst suggestion ever! Please dont come here if best you can say is get AMD!
They are year to year and half behind Intel on processors!!
Suggesting to buy one is not only showing how "much" you know about computers but also so misleading that it hurts. Please go read a bit bout computers and manufacturers and new processors and dont come here before you know smeg about anything. People come here to ask help and misleading them with BS information is worst thing you can do!

Now to "packages"...
You shouldnt :p building comp isnt that hard... but ohh well...

Intel processor Q6600, E8400, Q9450 (only processors to go for atm)
GPU (grpahics prosessing unit) Nvidia 8800 GTS (G92), Radeon 3870, Nvidia 8800 GT (G92)