Switching over from the Darkside

WackyJacky

Head Gardener
I am looking to buy a new PC. As the days go on I am beginning to realize that PC's are just far superior to Mac's. I know nothing about PC's, which PC to get, which operating system to use, etc. etc. I am looking to buy a desktop say between 500-1000 USD ($), my friend suggested building one, but I have no computer knowledge and thus would just waste all my money. I am looking for something that will mainly be used to surf the web, talk to friends, complete my homework assignments (word/PPT), download/install programs (photoshop, etc.), and of course gaming. I typed a few criteria I would like the computer to meet.

200+ GB on the HD
Enough RAM to play any new games that come out the next 2-3 years
Great for Games (probably won’t have more then 5 games loaded at a time)
Great for schoolwork (power point, Word.)
Internet (wireless as well would be nice, just for when my internet from the cord doesn’t work. :-D)
Will be able to download/install programs with no problems (disc or internet.)
Between 500 and 1000 USD, the lower the better ( I don’t want some craptastic computer though, something that’ll last a few years, and not considered ancient.)
Also something with enough ports to plug stuff in. Power, printer, External HD if needed, Speakers, internet cord, etc. (Would assume this would also be on the screen I choose?)
Think that is it. Will add more if I think of anything else.

Also any good suggestions for a nice keyboard, mouse and screen (no bigger then 22 inches.)?

Currently this is what a friend suggested to me.

Tower (keyboard, mouse and webcam also come in a bundle if I pay extra): http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6883227047

Screen: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... %2bMonitor

While the current tower looks nice, it may be a bit to pricey after the rest of the items are thrown in. Also I like the screen, but again may be too pricey.

Thanks!

f0xx

Landscape Designer