New Laptop - able to play games to some extent aswell!

Yeadon

Harvester
I know it is outside of your budget, but the following would be everything you require when it comes to gaming;

http://www.laptopsdirect.co.uk/GIGA...ch_Full_HD_Windows_8_Lap_P27K-CF2/version.asp

The Graphics Card inside this baby, NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 765M GDDR5 2GB is a beast. It's a high end video card. Will do what your want it to do no questions asked.

I know the laptop is above what you would like to pay, but it will be worth it.

Take a look. It is what I would be going for personally.

Gokualex

Harvester
is there really any difference between brands really? Dont they all use the same components and the brand is kind of only about design+warranty issues?

Gokualex

Harvester
and unfortunately, im a poor student so that computer is out of the question:p. im not a hardcore gamer anymore, and dont care about good graphics that much. I do however hate lag and low FPS :p! So a medium-low end gaming laptop should be fine.

timtadams

Landscape Designer
According to notebookchecknet, NVIDIA GeForce GT 630M 2gb outperforms AMD***8482; Radeon HD® 8570M 1GB by quite a bit though

Indeed. The GT 630M is about a year older than the HD 8570M. They release a number of different cards each year to cater for different requirements.

For example the GTX 765M is a newer high end card. But the GTX 770M is significantly more powerful and expensive, likewise for the GTX 780M. I think the GTX 670M is more powerful than the GTX 765M.

I know it is outside of your budget, but the following would be everything you require when it comes to gaming;

http://www.laptopsdirect.co.uk/GIGA...ch_Full_HD_Windows_8_Lap_P27K-CF2/version.asp

The Graphics Card inside this baby, NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 765M GDDR5 2GB is a beast. It's a high end video card. Will do what your want it to do no questions asked.

I know the laptop is above what you would like to pay, but it will be worth it.