Creating own game

Elderveld

Official Helper
So basicly, i wanna educate myself in some coding w/e.
I wanna try and build something bush-like. Not as the game itself, but a web-based text game.

I have been google'ing some time now. But all i can find is crap.

Basicly, i need to know wich program i need, were i can find some tutorials and stuff!

Anyone know anything about it?

n0c0ntr0l

Harvester
Come back when you know a decent amount of php, sql and another language of your choice (preferably: c, c++, python or java).

Then you'll be equipped to make a tick based game.

Elderveld

Official Helper
not wat i asked n0n0 :p
I'm gonna learn it while making it!

im an expert in self teaching and experimenting

n0c0ntr0l

Harvester
Urm, I do believe there was an open source planetarion ticker released at some point (also I think it was in C, can't remember) go have a look at that.

Really though you should get down programming fundamentals before you go out to make a tick based game.

avash

Harvester
I suggest finding a course at college or a uni and learn some basics. I dont think coding is so easy you can teach yourself...you'd need someone to be able to ask for help from whenever you got stuck while you were learning.

Polo

Garden Designer
Super Moderator
I taught myself to program and now do web development professionally.

I found I learned the most when I had a reasonably sized project to work on (nobreakspace) rather than just aimlessly trying to "learn how program". A ticker based game may be a little ambitious but they're not that hard to make. I suggest you try and make a few tools for Bush first to learn the basics and then move on to creating your own game.