50 not out

Charlie_B

Harvester
Hello everyone,

I've just realised that we're playing through the dying embers of my 50th round. I hope someone's written a song to commemorate the event.

It strikes me that any of the 'old guard' still playing will have changed a lot from who they were when they first signed up to bush. Most of us were youthful students and now presumably have jobs, real lives - perhaps even families?

I've enjoyed the nostalgia of the 'Bush Greats' thread and the two things have got me wondering about all my old friends - where they are and what they're doing now.

So, this thread is your chance to indulge in a bit of shameless self-biography on the off-chance that someone recognises your name and is vaguely interested in what you've been doing since you hilariously wasted all your money on hippies instead of harvesters that time five years ago.

I suppose it's only fair that I should start:

I started playing bush during Year 12 I.T. lessons at college (thanks Zaheen!). I studied bushtarion at university with a minor in Law - in retrospect it should probably have been the other way around. Since then I've been an IT tech, English teacher and for the past few years I've been working for universities helping international students to get visas. I've spent most of my time in Sheffield with interludes in Belgium and Vietnam, but I'm currently living in London.

So, what about you?

Edit: Oh, it's actually my 51st. What a pleasant anti-climax.

Charlie_B

Harvester
Ahoy tobes!

(and apologise to anyone I miss after this - like most of us ghosts I might be back tomorrow or I might go AWOL for months).

Alcibiades

Plant Geneticist
Charlie_B, you lunatic. Lovely to see you briefly. See you again in a few months.

I don't really remember when i started playing, sometime at the end of high school though as I went into university.