How is your bodyclock?

Azzer

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
My bodyclock has a mind of it's own, and it made me wonder how many other people are the same, and how many can control theirs?

First - I've been working for myself for 6 years now, I really have very little concept of day, weekends, bank holidays, terms, or anything else - every day to me is the same as any other day for all intents and purposes.
Secondly - I don't have set hours, there is no boss but myself, so I'm not restricted to always have to get up by X time in a morning, and that doesn't help either.

Which I figure means the only thing my body does, is natural... but then surely you'd think instinct would be sleep in the dark, wake in the light, from days gone by?

For the past couple of months now my bodyclock has rotated (around +1 hour a week) to night-shift. Right now my daily routine is: Go to bed at about between 9 and 10 in the morning. Sleep until about 5 to 6 in the evening. I have a meal (as "breakfast"), and chill out until about midnight, then I start working until 9/10 AM, and go back to bed. It's pretty screwed up but my body will do it's own thing when it comes to it's own cycle and ignores me entirely :p At other times it will cycle around and I'll sleep "normal" hours and be up during the day, and do a more normal routine (get up in the morning, start work, relax in an evening then go to bed late night). Seems no pattern to when or how it shifts! Oh and I need around 8 hours sleep a "night" lately, sometimes I'll live on 6 hours sleep a night for months on end, other times 10 hours... that seems pretty random too.

So how about the rest of you? Does everyone have normal bodyclocks? Do you "force" a normal bodyclock because work/education dictates it but really it's a fight? Or is your bodyclock totally random too?

Random topic because I'm curious! :D

Alcibiades

Plant Geneticist
Re: How is your bodyclock?