Problem with PC again :(

Nitrous

Head Gardener
Hi there,

My PC has recently started shutting itself down recently at random moments. I don't mean shutting itself down as in, Windows shuts it down. I mean the CPU turns itself off - similar experience to when a power cut occurs.

Currently I deal with it simply by switching the CPU (the power switch located near the power supply) off and then back on again. Then try to boot the CPU. But sometimes, it doesn't work so I'll have to wait a few minutes then do it.

Can someone please help me identify the problem, and then also provide a solution?

All help is much appreciated.
Much Love
Nitrous
xxxxx

saint1d

Head Gardener
Re: Problem with PC again :(

I seem to remember someone else having a similar problem and that it was caused by overheating. I'm no expert but I'm sure this could be the problem.

Nitrous

Head Gardener

I think that was me too. But my PC wasn't shutting down randomly. :p

Just had a funny burning smell.

But if you're right in saying that. I have had my fan at full force on my CPU and its turnt off just like that three times in the last 10/15 minutes. :|

Hobbezak

Garden Designer

Nitrous said:
I think that was me too. But my PC wasn't shutting down randomly. :p

Just had a funny burning smell.

But if you're right in saying that. I have had my fan at full force on my CPU and its turnt off just like that three times in the last 10/15 minutes. :|

Yeah definitely sounds like overheating to me.
Check in your bios settings at what temperature your pc shuts down, and what temperature your pc is at at that moment (do it when you restart after it has shut down "randomly" :p).

Max

Garden Designer